Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS, revised in March 2017, is a Government Framework covering the stage of childrens development from birth to 5 years old, when they are at the end of their first year in school (Reception). The EYFS Framework describes how early years practitioners should work with children and their families and what your child will be learning to give them a firm foundation for a successful start at school.

The EYFS identifies seven areas of learning and development. We use these when observing, assessing and planning to meet the needs of children as individuals. The areas of learning and development ensure that we continuously challenge children and help them to develop and succeed.

There are seven areas of learning and these are split into two parts:
The three prime areas are for all children aged between 0-5 years old and are our main focus when planning activities for babies and children under 3 years old:

Communication and Language;
Physical Development and Personal,
Social and Emotional Development.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in the four specific areas. These are mostly used for children over the age of 3 years old but can also be relevant for younger children:

Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.


The founders of Mother Hen Nursery believe children come first.
We pride ourselves in having a high quality team who are dedicated, committed and work together to provide a warm and welcoming environment.

Please do get in touch: info@mhnursery.com

Mother Hen Nursery © 2020 All rights reserved.